2020 Application Schedule
for First-Year Applicants Residing Outside Japan

2020 Application Schedule

Thank you for your interest in applying to APU for 2020 enrollment! The official application dates have been announced below. Detailed information regarding the 2020 application and enrollment procedures will be available on our website at the end of May. Currently, you can refer to the 2020 Application Handbook for information about the application and enrollment procedures.

Application Process

The application process is divided into two stages. Please apply by submitting your application online once your desired application period has started.

If you would like to apply for an APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship, it is possible to apply through the online application. Please note that there is a limit to the amount of APU Tuition Reduction Scholarships available. While the date you apply to APU will not have an impact on your admission results, applicants who apply earlier will have a greater chance at receiving scholarship.

1. Stage 1: Online Application
In stage 1, you will be evaluated using the documents you submit with your online application.

If you are unable to apply online due to unavoidable circumstances and would like to submit a paper application by post or in person, please contact the Admissions Office directly at welcome@apu.ac.jp to explain your situation. You must contact APU in advance to receive the designated application forms. Applications submitted to APU by post must be postmarked by the Tuesday two weeks before the online application deadline. In addition, if you submit a paper application you must pay the application fee by bank transfer.

2. Stage 1 Results
If you pass stage 1, you will be contacted by email with information regarding how to proceed to stage 2 of the application process. If you do not pass stage 1, you will be notified by email on the corresponding stage 1 result notification date listed below. (In some cases, applicants who pass stage 1 may be contacted regarding how to proceed to stage 2 before the stage 1 result notification date.)

3. Stage 2: Interview, Online Interview, or Online Assessment
Depending on your country of residence and whether or not you apply for the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship, stage 2 of the application process will be conducted either in the form of an in-person interview, an online interview, or an online assessment. It is not necessary to travel to Japan for stage 2 of the application process. For interviews, the date and time will be set by APU. Please be aware that APU may take longer to contact you regarding how to proceed to stage 2 when the university’s summer and winter breaks overlap with the application schedule.

4. Final Results
The final results will be posted on the admissions website on the final result notification date listed below. Information regarding how to view the final results will be sent to you by email. Please note that inquiries regarding final results will not be accepted.

Admitted applicants will not be allowed to reapply to the same college for the same enrollment period (the April 2020 or September 2020 enrollment period). If an admitted applicant does reapply, a new interview will not be performed and results will not be given. The application fee will also not be returned.

5. Enrollment Procedures
For certain application periods for each enrollment semester, the deadline to complete the enrollment procedures after being admitted is shorter than other periods. Please make sure you have checked the enrollment procedure deadlines before applying. Deadlines will not be extended under any circumstances.

Schedule A: For those who will apply for the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship

If you reside in China, India, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand, or Viet Nam, please refer to Schedule C.

April 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Online Interview Final Results
Application Period
Start Date
Application Period Deadline
Jun 3, 2019 (Mon) Jun 25, 2019 (Tue) Jul 4, 2019 (Thu) Through a video calling platform within 4 weeks after the application period deadline. (Additional online assessment tests may also be required.) Jul 29, 2019 (Mon)
Jun 26, 2019 (Wed) Aug 27, 2019 (Tue) Sep 5, 2019 (Thu) Oct 7, 2019 (Mon)
Aug 28, 2019 (Wed) Sep 24, 2019 (Tue) Oct 3, 2019 (Thu) Nov 5, 2019 (Tue)
Sep 25, 2019 (Wed) Oct 15, 2019 (Tue) Oct 31, 2019 (Thu) Dec 9, 2019 (Mon)

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Online Interview Final Results
Application Period
Start Date
Application Period Deadline
Sep 2, 2019 (Mon) Oct 8, 2019 (Tue) Oct 17, 2019 (Thu) Through a video calling platform within 4 weeks after the application period deadline. (Additional online assessment tests may also be required.) Nov 25, 2019 (Mon)
Oct 9, 2019 (Wed) Dec 10, 2019 (Tue) Dec 19, 2019 (Thu) Feb 3, 2020 (Mon)
Dec 11, 2019 (Wed) Jan 14, 2020 (Tue) Jan 23, 2020 (Thu) Mar 2, 2020 (Mon)
Jan 15, 2020 (Wed) Feb 18, 2020 (Tue) Feb 27, 2020 (Thu) Apr 6, 2020 (Mon)
Feb 19, 2020 (Wed) Mar 24, 2020 (Tue) Apr 9, 2020 (Thu) May 25, 2020 (Mon)

Schedule B: For those who will NOT apply for the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship

The following is the application schedule for applicants who will not apply for the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship. Stage 2 will be conducted in the form of an online assessment test. More details will be provided on our website and sent to corresponding applicants directly by email.

If you reside in China, India, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand, or Viet Nam, please refer to Schedule C.

April 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Online Assessment Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Jun 3, 2019 (Mon) Jun 25, 2019 (Tue) Jul 4, 2019 (Thu)
Within 2 weeks after the Stage 1 result notification date
Jul 16, 2019 (Tue)
Jun 26, 2019 (Wed) Aug 27, 2019 (Tue) Sep 5, 2019 (Thu) Sep 24, 2019 (Tue)
Aug 28, 2019 (Wed) Sep 24, 2019 (Tue) Oct 3, 2019 (Thu) Oct 21, 2019 (Mon)
Sep 25, 2019 (Wed) Oct 15, 2019 (Tue) Oct 31, 2019 (Thu) Nov 25, 2019 (Mon)

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Online Assessment Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Sep 2, 2019 (Mon) Oct 8, 2019 (Tue) Oct 17, 2019 (Thu)
Within 2 weeks after the Stage 1 result notification date
Nov 11, 2019 (Mon)
Oct 9, 2019 (Wed) Dec 10, 2019 (Tue) Dec 19, 2019 (Thu) Jan 20, 2020 (Mon)
Dec 11, 2019 (Wed) Jan 14, 2020 (Tue) Jan 23, 2020 (Thu) Feb 17, 2020 (Mon)
Jan 15, 2020 (Wed) Feb 18, 2020 (Tue) Feb 27, 2020 (Thu) Mar 23, 2020 (Mon)
Feb 19, 2020 (Wed) Mar 24, 2020 (Tue) Apr 9, 2020 (Thu) May 18, 2020 (Mon)

Schedule C: For Applicants residing in China, India, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand, Viet Nam

1. The following tables show the screening schedule both for applicants who will apply for the APU Tuition Scholarship and for applicants who will not apply for the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship. The deadlines are the same for all applicants.

2. Stage 2 will be conducted in the form of an interview. Details regarding the date and venue for the interview will be designated by APU and notified to applicants within about five days of the stage 1 result notification date. Please note that interview dates and locations may be subject to change. In addition, there may be cases where the interview is conducted online at a location designated by APU.

3. In principle, applications must be submitted online. If you cannot apply online, please contact the APU Overseas Office or Representative in your country of residence for details regarding how to submit a paper application. Paper applications submitted by post or brought directly to the local office must reach the office by the application deadline.

China

April 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Sep 9, 2019 (Mon) Oct 8, 2019 (Tue) Oct 18, 2019 (Fri) Nov 2, 2019 (Sat) Shanghai Nov 25, 2019 (Mon)

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Nov 5, 2019 (Tue) Nov 26, 2019 (Tue) Dec 5, 2019 (Thu) Dec 14, 2019 (Sat)
Dec 15, 2019 (Sun)
  • Shanghai
  • Shijiazhuang
  • Chongqing
Jan 20, 2020 (Mon)
Jan 6, 2020 (Mon) Feb 4, 2020 (Tue) Feb 14, 2020 (Fri) Feb 22, 2020 (Sat)
Feb 23, 2020 (Sun)
Shanghai Mar 16, 2020 (Mon)
Mar 2, 2020 (Mon) Mar 24, 2020 (Tue) Apr 2, 2020 (Thu) Apr 18, 2020 (Sat)
Apr 19, 2020 (Sun)
Shanghai May 18, 2020 (Mon)

India

April 2020 Enrollment

Please apply following either Schedule A or Schedule B.

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Nov 11, 2019 (Mon) Dec 3, 2019 (Tue) Dec 12, 2019 (Thu) Jan 18, 2020 (Sat)
Jan 19, 2020 (Sun)
  • New Delhi
  • Chennai
Feb 3, 2020 (Mon)
Mar 30, 2020 (Mon) Apr 21, 2020 (Tue) Apr 30, 2020 (Thu) May 16, 2020 (Sat)
May 17, 2020 (Sun)
Jun 1, 2020 (Mon)

Indonesia

April 2020 Enrollment

Please apply following either Schedule A or Schedule B.

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Oct 21, 2019 (Mon) Nov 12, 2019 (Tue) Nov 21, 2019 (Thu) Nov 30, 2019 (Sat)
Dec 1, 2019 (Sun)
Jakarta Dec 23, 2019 (Mon)
Dec 16, 2019 (Mon) Jan 14, 2020 (Tue) Jan 23, 2020 (Thu) Feb 1, 2020 (Sat)
Feb 2, 2020 (Sun)
Mar 2, 2020 (Mon)
Feb 3, 2020 (Mon) Feb 25, 2020 (Tue) Mar 5, 2020 (Thu) Mar 14, 2020 (Sat)
Mar 15, 2020 (Sun)
Apr 6, 2020 (Mon)
Mar 23, 2020 (Mon) Apr 14, 2020 (Tue) Apr 23, 2020 (Thu) May 9, 2020 (Sat)
May 10, 2020 (Sun)
Jun 1, 2020 (Mon)

Korea

April 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Jun 3, 2019 (Mon) Jun 18, 2019 (Tue) Jun 27, 2019 (Thu) Jul 6, 2019 (Sat)
Jul 7, 2019 (Sun)
Seoul Jul 29, 2019 (Mon)
Sep 9, 2019 (Mon) Sep 24, 2019 (Tue) Oct 3, 2019 (Thu) Oct 12, 2019 (Sat)
Oct 13, 2019 (Sun)
Nov 5, 2019 (Tue)
Nov 11, 2019 (Mon) Nov 26, 2019 (Tue) Dec 5, 2019 (Thu) Dec 14, 2019 (Sat)
Dec 15, 2019 (Sun)
Jan 14, 2020 (Tue)

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Apr 6, 2020 (Mon) Apr 21, 2020 (Tue) Apr 30, 2020 (Thu) May 9, 2020 (Sat)
May 10, 2020 (Sun)
Seoul Jun 1, 2020 (Mon)

Thailand

April 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Jun 3, 2019 (Mon) Jul 30, 2019 (Tue) Aug 8, 2019 (Thu) Aug 24, 2019 (Sat)
Aug 25, 2019 (Sun)
Bangkok Sep 17, 2019 (Tue)
Sep 2, 2019 (Mon) Oct 29, 2019 (Tue) Nov 8, 2019 (Fri) Nov 16, 2019 (Sat)
Nov 17, 2019 (Sun)
Dec 9, 2019 (Mon)

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Dec 2, 2019 (Mon) Jan 28, 2020 (Tue) Feb 6, 2020 (Thu) Feb 15, 2020 (Sat)
Feb 16, 2020 (Sun)
Bangkok Mar 9, 2020 (Mon)
Feb 3, 2020 (Mon) Mar 17, 2020 (Tue) Mar 26, 2020 (Thu) Apr 4, 2020 (Sat)
Apr 5, 2020 (Sun)
Apr 27, 2020 (Mon)

Viet Nam

April 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Sep 24, 2019 (Tue) Oct 29, 2019 (Tue) Nov 8, 2019 (Fri) Nov 24, 2019 (Sun)
  • Hanoi
  • Ho Chi Minh
Dec 16, 2019 (Mon)

September 2020 Enrollment

Online Application Period Stage 1 Results Stage 2: Interview Interview Location Final Results
Application Period Start Date Application Period Deadline
Sep 24, 2019 (Tue) Oct 29, 2019 (Tue) Nov 8, 2019 (Fri) Nov 23, 2019 (Sat)
Nov 24, 2019 (Sun)
  • Hanoi
  • Ho Chi Minh
Dec 16, 2019 (Mon)
Nov 5, 2019 (Tue) Dec 3, 2019 (Tue) Dec 12, 2019 (Thu) Jan 11, 2020 (Sat)
Jan 12, 2020 (Sun)
Jan 27, 2020 (Mon)
Jan 14, 2020 (Tue) Feb 12, 2020 (Wed) Feb 21, 2020 (Fri) Mar 7, 2020 (Sat)
Mar 8, 2020 (Sun)
Mar 30, 2020 (Mon)
Mar 9, 2020 (Mon) Mar 31, 2020 (Tue) Apr 9, 2020 (Thu) Apr 25, 2020 (Sat)
Apr 26, 2020 (Sun)
May 18, 2020 (Mon)